Macular Hole Stages

A Summary of Macular Hole Stages

There are three stages to a macular hole:
  • Foveal detachment (stage I)
  • Partial-thickness hole (stage II)
  • Full-thickness hole (stage III).
Foveal Detachment (Stage I)
Without macular hole treatment, about 50 percent of stage I macular holes will progress.
Partial-Thickness Hole (Stage II)
Without treatment, about 70 percent of stage II macular holes will progress.
Full-Thickness Hole (Stage III)
When a stage III macular hole develops, most central and detailed vision can be lost. A macular hole can lead to a detached retina, a sight-threatening condition that should receive immediate medical attention.

Macular Holes

Referring Pages:
Terms of Use
Advertise with Us
Contact Us
About eMedTV
Privacy Policy
Copyright © 2006-2019 Clinaero, Inc.
eMedTV serves only as an informational resource. This site does not dispense medical advice or advice of any kind. Site users seeking medical advice about their specific situation should consult with their own physician. Click Terms of Use for more information.