Eyes Home > Detached Retina Types

There are three different detached retina types: rhegmatogenous, tractional, and exudative. Each type of retinal detachment behaves in a specific way, although they are all doing the same thing -- causing the retina to become lifted or pulled from its normal position in the eye.

An Overview of Detached Retina Types

There are three different detached retina types:
  • Rhegmatogenous
  • Tractional
  • Exudative.
A rhegmatogenous detached retina is a tear or break in the retina that allows fluid to get under the retina and separate it from the retinal pigment epithelium (RPE). The RPE is the pigmented cell layer that nourishes the retina. A rhegmatogenous retinal detachment is the most common detached retina type.
In this type of detached retina, scar tissue on the retina's surface contracts and causes the retina to separate from the RPE. This type of retinal detachment is less common.
This type of detached retina is frequently associated with retinal diseases, including inflammatory disorders and injury or trauma to the eye. In this retinal detachment type, fluid leaks into the area underneath the retina, but there are no tears or breaks in the retina.
Written by/reviewed by:
Last reviewed by: Arthur Schoenstadt, MD
Last updated/reviewed:
List of references (click here):
Other Articles in This eMedTV Presentation




Related Channels

eMedTV Links
Copyright © 2006-2019 Clinaero, Inc.

eMedTV serves only as an informational resource. This site does not dispense medical advice or advice of any kind. Site users seeking medical advice about their specific situation should consult with their own physician. Click Terms of Use for more information.

This site complies with the HONcode standard for trustworthy health information:
verify here.